Office of World Languages
Welcome!
The Office of World Languages is a part of the Department of Liberal Arts and is responsible for the written, taught, and assessed curricula for World Languages and ESOL.

Additionally, the office provides for instruction in seven world languages as well as for English for Speakers of Other Languages at the elementary, middle, and high school levels.

Elementary World Language FAQ


World Languages
  • Provides instruction for Chinese, French, German, Italian, Japanese, Latin, and Spanish in middle and high school levels.
  • Supports world language magnet programs at Wellwood International Elementary School, Sudbrook Magnet Middle School, and Deer Park Magnet Middle School.
  • Provides direct instructional and educational support to immigrants, refugees, non-permanent residents, or native-born Americans with limited English proficiency.
  • Facilitates translations of key Baltimore County documents and forms.

Brian Schiffer
Director, Social Sciences, Fine Arts, and World Languages
bschiffer@bcps.org

Judy Opfer
Coordinator
jopfer@bcps.org
Gabrielle Lawrence
Specialist
glawrence@bcps.org

Kimberley Shinozaki
Supervisor
kshinozaki@bcps.org

Donna Miller
Resource Teacher
dmiller7@bcps.org

Margaret Berrios-Brown
Resource Teacher
mberriosbrown@bcps.org

 
Deborah Wilson-Matusky
Resource Teacher
dwilsonmatusky@bcps.org
 

 

ESOL

The ESOL Intake Center at Old Court Middle School Families must call the ESOL Intake Center to make an appointment Monday through Friday from 9:00 AM – 4:00 PM. Please call 410-887-6752

More information
Spanish | Chinese | Vietnamese | Russian | Urdu

Candice Lenet
Registrar
clenet@bcps.org  
Emee Abellana
Administrative Secretary
eabellana@bcps.org


ESOL at Old Court Middle School
4627 Old Court Road
Baltimore, MD 21208
410-887-6752
Fax: 410-922-4340

Office of World Languages
Jefferson Building, 3rd floor
105 W. Chesapeake Ave.
Towson, MD. 21204
410-887-6756
Fax: 410-494-4575

Employees may log-in to our intranet site for staff materials.

©2014 Baltimore County Public Schools. All rights reserved. This site is optimized for 1280 display resolution and for use with the latest versions of most browsers.