Office of Staffing
Office of Certification

The Office of Certification, in the Office of Staffing, is a part of the Department of Human Resources.  The office ensures that certificated staff achieve and maintain professional certification to reflect their “highly qualified” status in educating the children of Baltimore County Public Schools (BCPS). 

Additionally, the Office of Certification:

  • Evaluates, issues, and renews the Maryland certificates of certificated staff.
  • Serves as professional growth advisors and liaisons to the Maryland State Department of Education for certificated personnel.
  • Coordinates National Board Certification for the school system.
  • Administers the tuition reimbursement program for certificated personnel.
  • Initiates salary level changes and step increases for certificated personnel.
  • Conducts new hire orientations and represents BCPS at job fairs and the new teacher inductions.

The Office of Certification’s website provides you with:

6901 Charles Street
Building E
Towson, Maryland 21204
410-296-2713 fax - Email – certunit@bcps.org

Carla E. Simons, PHR
Human Resources Officer

Last Names A – K
443-809-4147

Barbara Watkins
Certification Assistant
bwatkins@bcps.org

Peggy Muhl
Secretary
mmuhl@bcps.org

Last Names L – Z
443-809-5768

Michelle Smith
Human Resources Analyst
ismith3@bcps.org

 Arvilla Parham
Clerk
aparham@bcps.org

Roberta Arpin
Personnel Assistant
Rarpin@bcps.org
(443)809-4148

Carole Bartels
Personnel Assistant
cbartels@bcps.org
(443)809-4162

Janice Reilly
Personnel Assistant
jreilly@bcps.org
(443)809-3454

Maryland State Department of Education
(410) 767-0412 or toll-free (866) 772-8922
www.mdcert.org

 

©2016 Baltimore County Public Schools. All rights reserved. This site is optimized for 1280 display resolution and for use with the latest versions of most browsers.