Service Learning
Maryland's Seven Best Practices

All service-learning experiences should meet Maryland's Seven Best Practices of Service-Learning.  These best practices expand on the fundamental preparation, action and reflection stages of service-learning and should be used to assess high-quality projects.

Maryland's Seven Best Practices of Service-Learning

  1. Meet a Recognized Need in the Community
  2. Achieve Curricular Objectives through Service-Learning
  3. Reflect throughout Service-Learning Experience
  4. Develop Student Responsibility
  5. Establish Community Partnerships
  6. Plan Ahead for Service-Learning
  7. Equip Students with Knowledge and Skills Needed for Service

Published with the permission of the Maryland State Department of Education

©2018 Baltimore County Public Schools. All rights reserved. This site is optimized for 1280 display resolution and for use with the latest versions of most browsers.