Human Resources Staffing
Office of Certification


The Office of Certification is a part of the Department of Human Resources and is responsible for ensuring that certificated staff achieve and maintain professional certification including evaluating educator credentials, issuing initial certificates, renewing certificates, and adding area endorsements.  Certification staff serve as liaisons to the Maryland State Department of Education (MSDE) for certificated BCPS staff.  All certification requests, questions, and concerns must be sent to the Office of Certification.  Ensuring certificated staff are in good standing with MSDE certification, our office also serves as your professional growth advisors and works collaboratively with the Office of Organizational Development to offer various professional development opportunities for BCPS staff. 

Additionally, the Office of Certification:

  • Evaluates, issues, and renews the Maryland certificates of certificated staff.
  • Coordinates National Board Certification for the school system.
  • Administers the tuition reimbursement program for certificated and non-certificated staff.
  • Initiates salary level changes and step increases for certificated and non-certificated staff.
  • Represents BCPS at job fairs, recruitment events, and the new teacher inductions.

The Office of Certification’s website provides you with:

6901 Charles Street
Building E
Towson, Maryland 21204
410-296-2713 fax - Email – certunit@bcps.org

Carla E. Simons, PHR
Human Resources Officer

Last Names A – K
443-809-4147

Barbara Watkins
Certification Assistant
bwatkins@bcps.org

Peggy Muhl
Secretary
mmuhl@bcps.org

Last Names L – Z
443-809-5768

Michelle Smith
Human Resources Analyst
ismith3@bcps.org

 Arvilla Parham
Clerk
aparham@bcps.org

Roberta Arpin
Personnel Assistant
Rarpin@bcps.org
(443)809-4148

Carole Bartels
Personnel Assistant
cbartels@bcps.org
(443)809-4162

Janice Reilly
Personnel Assistant
jreilly@bcps.org
(443)809-3454

Maryland State Department of Education
(410) 767-0412 or toll-free (866) 772-8922
www.mdcert.org

 

©2016 Baltimore County Public Schools. All rights reserved. This site is optimized for 1280 display resolution and for use with the latest versions of most browsers.